Fun with mobile blogging!!!

I just noticed this past weekend that I can read this blog from my handset!!!

mobile java blog

The cool thing is that if you’re reading this on your handset right now, you can click on this link to my games page and from there download the sample games and programs right onto your handset and try them out!!!

I’ve made a new HTML version of my games page (the above link) since my current handset is capable of reading and displaying html. For those whose handsets support only WML (not HTML), I have two WML pages available that link to the same sample programs: http://frog-parrot.net/hello.wml and http://frog-parrot.net/checkers.wml. Please feel free to link to any of these pages.

Even though I’m now mobile-blogging 😉 , it somehow feels like I’m not getting the complete mobile blogging experience since I’m only reading the blog from my handset (posting from my hopelessly non-mobile PC…)

I could probably remedy this by using some tips from this introduction to mobile blogging article by

I’m a little skeptical of this idea since the most interesting photo blogs tend to be written by serious photo hobbyists (if not professional photographers) who have real cameras. And in my own case, I’ve mostly been posting photos of my handset, which are tricky to take using the handset’s built in camera… But who knows? Maybe this idea will become popular.

Actually I’m tempted to combine this “mobile photo blog” idea with the following handset bug I read about recently:

Q: My Nokia 6131 keep taking photos whilst in my pocket – Why?

A: Unfortunately the camera button is on the side of the handset and there is no lock for this. this cannot be changed.

Lots of handsets have strange bugs, so I don’t know why I find this one so hilarious. “My handset keeps taking pictures of the inside of my pocket!” “Um… There’s nothing we can do about that, sorry.” lol

I think this would make a great experimental / performance art blog: “photosMyHandsetSpontaneouslyTookOfTheInsideOfMyPocket.wordpress.com”

Don’t any of you steal this idea before I get around to doing it. 😉

3 comments so far

  1. Choppablog on

    Hi, I have a solution to your mobile blogging prob. Why not speak your blog whilst away from your pc, and get it converted to email and sent to your blog page?

    SpinVox does this now and with 97% accuracy, it’s really cool and it really works.

    Look at http://www.spinvox.com and check out the free trial. Get yourself an account thru their site and then put your email address into it. All you do then is dial your voicemail and speak your blog update into it (max 3mins) and hey presto it’s in your inbox ready to post to site.

    It may take blog providers a few weeks to embed this feature in but it’s easy to offer us all a direct line we can call and get the wav file and email posted directly into our blogs for editing or live! now that’s real time and WE can do it NOW!

    I’m truly a mobile blogger now I have this and I can post stuff up real-time!

    hope it works for you too!

  2. Tomsoft on

    Carol,

    A much shorter, and I think easiest to read version of the test would be to put the name of the class to check in an array, instead of doing a specific test….

    Something like this:

    import javax.microedition.lcdui.Command;
    import javax.microedition.lcdui.CommandListener;
    import javax.microedition.lcdui.Display;
    import javax.microedition.lcdui.Displayable;
    import javax.microedition.lcdui.Form ;
    import javax.microedition.lcdui.List;
    import javax.microedition.midlet.MIDlet;
    /**
    * A simple MIDlet to test which APIs are implemented.
    */
    public class Test extends MIDlet implements CommandListener {

    private Command m_exitCommand = new Command(“Done”, Command.EXIT, 1);
    private List m_menu;
    private Form m_resultScreen;
    /**
    * The list of API labels.
    */
    private String[][] m_jsrs = {
    {“JSR 75 PIM”,”javax.microedition.pim.PIMException”},
    {“JSR 75 File Connection”,”javax.microedition.io.file.ConnectionClosedException”},
    {“JSR 82 Bluetooth”,”javax.bluetooth.BluetoothConnectionException”},
    {“JSR 135 Mobile Media”,”javax.microedition.media.MediaException”},
    {“JSR 172 Web Services RMI”,”java.rmi.RemoteException”},
    {“JSR 172 Web Services SAX”,”org.xml.sax.SAXParseException”},
    {“JSR 184 3D Graphics”,”javax.microedition.m3g.CompositingMode”},
    {“JSR 205 Wireless Messaging”,”javax.wireless.messaging.SizeExceededException”},
    {“EGE”,”com.infusio.ege.toolkit.TLV”}
    };

    /**
    * Empty constructor.
    */
    public Test() {
    }

    /**
    * Initialize the Displayables.
    */
    public void startApp() {
    String listJsrs[]=new String[m_jsrs.length];
    for(int i=0;i

  3. carolhamer on

    Hi Tom!!!

    Very true — I actually re-wrote a simpler version of that midlet after posting it. I probably should have gone through and refactored before posting the code, but anyway you get the idea even with the less-efficient version…


Leave a Reply

